Yummy January Recipes

In an effort to expand my recipe arsenal, I’ve started looking into many of The Nourishing Home’s Meal Planning Recipes and it’s going quite well! In all honesty, I’m not a very knowledgeable cook. Whilst living at home I mostly made stir fry recipes (our oven was out of service for a number of years), and so now I’m making an effort to learn how to properly and knowledgeably meal plan and cook. It’s such a wonderful thing to make a yummy meal! So far, I’ve found that if I make 4-5 big recipes, that will last Jared and myself around 2 1/2 weeks. The following January recipes are inspired by and taken from this meal plan.

IMG_5910IMG_5916IMG_5960

Mango Chicken Stuffed Peppers – modified (pictured above). I baked the chicken instead of using a crock pot (ours is out of service), and didn’t put the final product in red pepper halves. We love this one! So good.

Slow Cooker Thai Stew – modified (pictured above). Again, because our crock pot is out of service, I baked this in the oven and made the rice noodles on the stove top.

Grilled Skirt Steak with Balsamic Marinade – modified (modified version pictured above). I basically used this recipe as inspiration for my use of chicken with a balsamic lime marinade. It turned out quite well!

Turkey Meatballs Braised in Tomato Sauce – (not pictured).

Chicken Verde with Peppers – modified (not pictured). Baked instead of using a crock pot.

For lunches we ate mostly leftovers (leftovers are a wonderful, wonderful thing), and on other days, tuna salad sandwiches were quite popular. I also like to have salad ingredients on hand because, well, salads are a great addition and go with mostly everything.

Coffee Cake in a Mug – (not pictured). Jared surprised me one morning with breakfast in bed (yummy eggs and bacon), and added this to it as a delicious breakfast side!

Happy meal planning and cooking! These recipes are great, and I hope you’re inspired.

Leave a Reply

