Natural Oral Health Care | Products & Routines

Have you ever gotten a gross, sticky white film inside your mouth after brushing your teeth? I have. And I don’t like it one bit. I tried to research the cause of such a thing, and it looks like it might be a result of the type of toothpaste you are using. I’ve noticed that I don’t get it with every toothpaste I use, so I believe this cause has some merit. Here are some sources that might help to explain the cause:

I can’t find an authoritative source on the issue, but nonetheless, I do believe the white film scum is a result of the type of toothpaste you use. My go-to toothpastes have always been Crest or Colgate, but I’m seriously considering switching to something more natural and good-for-you:

Other natural, healthy oral care products to consider using:

A note: Soft bristled toothbrushes are the safest way to go, and it’s best to replace your toothbrush every 3-4 months. Store your toothbrushes in an upright position. Allow them to air dry after brushing. Sources: One | Two

The last time I went to the dentist was 8 months ago (it was pretty darn expensive!), and let’s just say, even though I brush and floss two times a day, my dental report was still pretty poor. Why was that? There can be many factors: diet, genetics, products, methods. So is there hope for me? What can I do? Well, here’s my thinking on where to start: Continue to brush (2 1/2 – 3 minutes) and floss with good methods, and at least two times a day; use a good toothpaste and other good oral products; eat well; and drink water. Ok, simple. I’ve got that. What else can I do? I’ve read that utilizing coconut oil, lemon water, and green tea can do wonders. Have you heard of oil pulling? I hadn’t either, so following are sources on oil pulling with coconut oil:

Benefits-of-oil-pulling
Source: FP Blog

This is quite intriguing, and I’m quite interested in adding coconut oil pulling and tongue scraping to my dental routine! Drinking green tea with lemon juice is also good to do for oral health.

So, what’s the routine?

Daily – Morning: Drink a glass of water upon waking; Rinse with coconut oil for 20 minutes and then spit out in a trash can (some sources recommend 1-2 teaspoons, others recommend 1 tablespoon); Rinse well with warm water; Scrape your tongue; Brush your teeth with a healthy toothpaste; Floss; Scrape your tongue

Daily – Throughout the day: Drink green tea – add some coconut oil, lemon juice, and/or honey to the tea

Daily – Evening: Brush your teeth with a healthy toothpaste; Floss; Scrape your tongue

Quarterly: Replace your toothbrush every three to four months

Twice-Yearly: Schedule an appointment with your dentist

There are many more sources on oral health and many more natural oral health care routines, but with this post, my hope is to have covered easy to do, getting-started basics.

What I need to do next: add good toothbrushes, toothpaste, floss, and tongue cleaners to my grocery list. Continue to stock up on good coconut oil, lemon juice, green tea, and honey.

Helpful Sources:

Do you incorporate natural oral health care routines? What are they? I’d love to know! I’m also curious about using baking soda and warm salt water for oral health care – could be a future post!

Leave a Reply

