Guide for the New Homemaker: Your Homemaking Binder, Getting Started

I highly recommend purchasing a three ring binder and dividers for a homemaking binder. Categorize your dividers to your preference. Right now, I have a cleaning, workout/wellness, cooking (kitchen/food prep tips), meal planning, maintenance and miscellaneous section. I keep finances separate. If you prefer to have folders on your computer, that works just as well. As you get more comfortable in your to-do’s and routines, I also recommend making a master calendar that includes cleaning, maintenance, and finance to-do’s in addition to your upcoming events.

So, as of right now, I have a homemaking binder composed of the below mentioned elements, file folders for tax, work, and education information, and a master calendar (in the form of my planner, as well as a calendar on my computer). The master calendar includes upcoming events, my cleaning routines, maintenance schedules, and finance to-do’s.

Without further ado, here is a guide on starting your very own homemaking binder.

Cleaning:

  • Prepare a daily, weekly, monthly, and yearly cleaning schedule.
    • Print out your routine, and put in your homemaking binder.
    • Add your cleaning schedule to your master calendar.
      • Ex: First Saturday of each month is for monthly cleaning chores.
  • Make note of what cleaning supplies you’ll need for your home. I recommend not going overboard, and sticking to the basics.
    • I highly recommend ditching paper towels, and using microfiber cloth for most of your housework.
    • Recommended cleaning supplies to have on hand: white vinegar, hydrogen peroxide, Dr. Bronners, baking soda, homemade all purpose cleaner, microfiber cloths, and assorted cloths and scrubbing brushes.
  • You can also keep laundry tips here as well (stain removal tips, etc.).
  • Recommended resources:

Workout/Wellness:

  • Prepare your workout routines and put them in your homemaking binder.
  • I recommend keeping your medical records on file, as well as all of your doctors’ information and health insurance information.
  • Should you find remedies and tips you like, file them here as well.

Cooking:

Meal Planning:

  • Meal planning is one of those things that takes awhile to master. As such, I’m still trying to figure out the tricks of the trade.
  • Utilize:
    • Seasonal charts for fruits and vegetables.
    • Frozen fruits and vegetables (they’re generally cheaper than fresh).
    • Stocking up on meat (buying them in bulk generally saves money).
  • Recommended resources:

Maintenance:

  • I recommend keeping your auto information here: your auto’s maintenance schedule, insurance documents, when to renew your vehicle registration and driver’s license and such.
  • Home repair and home utility information is also helpful to have on hand here.

Miscellaneous:

  • Your miscellaneous section could include travel information, appliance guides, coupons, or even hair tutorials. Whatever you’d like.
  • I like to keep household projects listed here, as well as market lists, and wish lists.

And there you have it. Again, I keep finances and statements, as well as work/self-employment information, separate from my homemaking binder. If you’d prefer to keep everything together though, go for it! I’m still quite a new homemaker, and I’m sure I’ll learn and change things later down the road. However, what is written is how I’ve started my homemaking learning process and thus, my handy homemaking binder.

Leave a Reply

